Grand Prix Practice: Sealed Pool #006

Sealed Pool #006

Link to Gatherer

White
1 Amrou Scout
1 Avian Changeling
1 Blinding Beam
1 Bound in Silence
2 Feudkiller’s Verdict
1 Gleam of Resistance
1 Hillcomber Giant
2 Ivory Giant
1 Kithkin Greatheart
1 Saltfield Recluse
1 Terashi’s Grasp
1 Test of Faith
2 Veteran Armorer
1 Yosei, the Morning Star

Blue
1 Dampen Thought
2 Echoing Truth
1 Errant Ephemeron
1 Erratic Mutation
2 Etherium Sculptor
2 Peer Through Depths
1 Perilous Research
1 Reach Through Mists
2 Riftwing Cloudskate
1 Traumatic Visions

Black
2 Absorb Vis
1 Blightspeaker
1 Faerie Macabre
2 Festering Goblin
1 Mad Auntie
1 Marsh Flitter
1 Phthisis
1 Stinkweed Imp
2 Street Wraith
1 Syphon Life
2 Warren Weirding

Red
1 Brute Force
1 Crush Underfoot
1 Desperate Ritual
1 Fiery Fall
1 Fury Charm
3 Glacial Ray
1 Hammerheim Deadeye
1 Rift Bolt
2 Rift Elemental
1 Thundercloud Shaman
1 War-Spike Changeling

Green
1 Durkwood Baloth
1 Giant Dustwasp
1 Kodama’s Reach
1 Masked Admirers
1 Search for Tomorrow
1 Sporoloth Ancient
1 Summoner’s Pact
1 Tarmogoyf
1 Verdeloth the Ancient
1 Walker of the Grove

Multi
1 Figure of Destiny
1 Jhoira of the Ghitu
1 Murderous Redcap
1 Oona, Queen of the Fae

Colorless
1 AEther Spellbomb
3 Arcbound Stinger
1 Arcbound Wanderer
1 Epochrasite
1 Etched Oracle
1 Myr Enforcer
1 Paradise Mantle
1 Pyrite Spellbomb
1 Relic of Progenitus
2 Runed Stalactite

Land
1 Vivid Crag
1 Vivid Grove

I copied the pool into this post before building the deck because I know whenever I build the deck, the cut and paste process is quite simple. The act of organizing the initial list of cards takes a fair bit of time, so I thought that I would take care of that while I had the time before work this morning. In doing so, having not even looked at the pool yet, I realized two things. First, I had no idea what to do with this pool. I had some thoughts, some crazy, crazy thoughts, and we’ll see what happened when we get to the deck list.

The second was that in organizing this list, the most basic thing I needed to know was the color of each card. Yes, this is still an issue for me for some cards. For example, I had to look up Riftwing Cloudskate from this pool. I had thought it was the colorless domain flyer, Skyreach Manta… Manta, Skate, whatever! Anyway, the thing that I realized is that I should know all of these cards by this weekend. So as I continued to sort, I tried to identify each card as I did so. For the most part it was things like “Paradise Mantle, that’s the one that makes any creature a Birds of Paradise.” I’m not trying to get into every specific detail of every card, but having at least a base understanding of what every card does is a good idea. For the most part this will help in draft because I will have a better understanding if which cards are in the set and what I should be looking for in a particular archetype. No matter the format, this is great knowledge to have while playing my matches this weekend. If I know all the cards in the set, even on a “general idea” basis, then I will be able to play around things better. I can’t play around Echoing Truth if I don’t know what that card is right?

So, that out of the way, let’s see what deck I was able to put together!

4 Forest
3 Island
2 Mountain
3 Plains
3 Swamp
1 Vivid Crag
1 Vivid Grove


17 lands

1 Festering Goblin
1 Figure of Destiny
1 Thallid
1 Amrou Scout
1 Epochrasite
1 Tarmogoyf
1 Jhoira of the Ghitu
1 Stinkweed Imp
1 Marsh Flitter
1 Masked Admirers
1 War-Spike Changeling
1 Sporoloth Ancient
1 Oona, Queen of the Fae
1 Verdeloth the Ancient
1 Yosei, the Morning Star
1 Errant Ephemeron


16 creatures

1 Paradise Mantle
1 AEther Spellbomb
1 Pyrite Spellbomb
1 Blinding Beam
1 Kodama’s Reach
1 Search for Tomorrow
1 Feudkiller’s Verdict


7 other spells

As you can see, I decided to go full five color. The variance and power level of my rares and bombs were just too much and I had to try and use them all. That combined with two Vivid lands, two ramp spells, and the Paradise Mantle actually made it a possibility, and hopefully a strong deck. What do you think?

4 comments
  1. Me said:

    I’m thinking 5 colors, then again how could you not with this pool. Let’s start with the obvious. Goyf, Yosei, Oona, Verdeloth, Figure of Destiny, Murderous Redcap, Jhoira, avian changeling, blightspeaker, warspike changeling, 2 rift elementals, phthsis, blinding beam, bound in silence, amrou scout, stinkweed imp, marsh flitter, search for tomorrow, kodama’s reach, paradise mantle and 2 feudkiller’s verdict. 4 plains, 2 mountains, the 2 vivid lands, every other land at 3. This would be a formidable sealed pool with tons of power. My thought process was to build a deck with ramp and some protection to give time to drop the bombs, which are a plenty in this deck. Jhoira with the 2 rift elementals can speed it up alot. Best pool so far by a mile

  2. Me said:

    Also, if I opened this pool at the tourney, I might have walked away. If i was passed this pool at the tourney, I would wet myself and feel like I had a chance to make day 2

  3. First, I don’t know that I would walk if I got this pool. It is worth about $150-$200. I think for me to walk away I would have to cover the weekend, and that pretty much means Foil Goyf. In this pool there were 7 rare/mythics, so that means that one of them was a foil… it may have been Goyf, but Decked Drafter doesn’t identify which one.

    Second, I think the pool is deceptive. Is it truly strong as a 5-color deck, or can we make a stronger 2 color deck, maybe splashing a third color? I don’t really know, I just know that with this many bombs and the amount of ramp we have, I think it is viable. I didn’t actually even look at any of the two color combinations, though I’m sure it would be green at least.

    Finally, bear in mind that the deck isn’t what gets you the wins. It is as much on the player as it is the deck. Remember that there are archetypes, and they are strong for a reason. Some are more difficult than others to play (storm vs. goblins for example) but none of them would be as difficult to play as a full five color build with no real strategy other than “bomb for the win”.

    Just playing the devil’s advocate here. I would be very excited if I got this pool in Vegas as well.

  4. Me said:

    Lets see what we can do with the 2 strangest colors then. My opinion would be green and white. Blue is pretty weak, black has a couple of my favorite cards but isn’t that great either. Red is weak too. Down side is having to give up jhoira (not that big of a deal) and Oona. That removes 10 cards from my above list because I would keep Figure of Destiny. Add masked admirers, sporoloth ancient, summoners pact, 3 arcbound stingers, arcbound wanderer, myr enforcer, epocrosite, and durkwood baloth. both vivid’s, 8 plains and 7 forests. This would be a competetive deck I think, just because of the bombs that are in it. I’m not sure how it would fair against a solid rebel deck or thalid but it would be fun to play and give me some confidence going into a match.

Leave a Reply

