Nin and Rakdos, Together Again…

                                 

Game 1

Me – Nin the Pain Artist

Opp 1 – Ghave, Guru of Spores

Opp 2 – Grimgrin, Corpse-Born

Opp 3 – Krond the Dawn-Clad

Quick game for me where an innocent Blasphemous Act pushes Krond to neuter my mana. Then an attack of opportunity turns Ghave and Krond against me (the two strongest players who should have been focusing on each other) and I was dead three turns later. I played about six rounds of Carmageddon while I waited for the next game. I believe that Grimgrin was able to pull out the win despite a slow start on mana.

Even though the deck didn’t last long in this particular game, it is in a much better position to do better than the previous version. I swapped out 10-15 cards and streamlined the theme of the deck. Not it has more consistency and better focus on what it is trying to do to win.

Game 2

Me – Rakdos, Lord of RIots

Opp 1 – Ghave, Guru of Spores

Opp 2 – Grimgrin, Corpse-Born

Opp 3 – Krond the Dawn Clad

I decided that even though my first game with Nin was a bust, I had a better feel for the deck, plus I really wanted to try out my newest deck for Rakdos, Lord of Riots. This game was quite a lot like the first, except I didn’t die right away. The couple of creatures I brought out in the early game were soon sacrificed to Call to the Grave… which then proceeded to hang out on the board for the rest of the game. I did get to do a few fun things, like cast Head Games, stacking Ghave’s hand with several forests (he was pretty flush on green mana anyway) and a couple of enchantment removals, etc… I was hoping he would get rid of the Call to the Grave, but in playing a token deck, he had plenty of creatures to sacrifice to it. Both Krond and I suffered immensely from that one enchantment and could not find an answer for it. I also got to cast Havoc Festival… That card is just awesome. Of course I became the primary target after that. By Grimgrin’s turn Krond was dead and I got one more turn. Ghave then killed my Havoc Festival, then killed me. I believe that Grimgrin won that game.

Game 3

Me – Rakdos, Lord of RIots

Opp 1 – Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund

Opp 2 – Grimgrin, Corpse-Born

In this game Ghave found no mana and Grimgrin had a nut-draw. I also had a nut draw with a turn three Markov Blademaster, hitting Ghave for two on turn four allowing Rakdos to be cast. This was followed by hitting both Ghave and Grimgrin for six each which allowed a turn five Desecration Demon. And this is where I messed up, not taking my own advice that I often give to Opp 2. I  dropped every creature in my hand thanks to the ability on Rakdos, thus overextending and leaving me with nothing when Grimgrin cast Life’s Finale on his turn. After that I couldn’t recover while Grimgrin kept pumping out zombies and eventually found his Rooftop Storm and was able to combo out with Gravecrawler and a now infinitely large Grimgrin was able to stomp me, even though I was dead to a normal sized Grimgrin that turn. Sadly, Karrthus was mana-screwed the whole game and didn’t do much… except die!

Game 4

Me – Rakdos, Lord of RIots

Opp 1 – Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund

Opp 2 – Grimgrin, Corpse-Born

In this game Karrthus’ mana screw was transmitted to me and I was stuck on just one mana (after mulling to five) for most of the game. Karrthus on the other hand had the nut draw with a turn 5 Karrthus which took out Grimgrin on turn 8 and me on turn 12. Grimgrin tried to put up a fight, just didn’t have it against a Karrthus that came out that early.

The Rakdos deck did fairly well. Granted I didn’t do very well in any game, but in the first game it was a single enchantment that was stopping me from playing and despite answers in the deck I just couldn’t find them. The third game was lost to mana screw, and I know, I should take blame where blame is due, but I don’t feel that blame is due. There is plenty of mana in the deck, sometimes it just happens that you don’t find any of it. The second game however, was one hundred percent my fault. Had I not overextended after the first attack with Rakdos then I would have been in a much better position to recover from the Life’s Finale, and in the end, while the creatures in the deck are efficient and seem like they would lend themselves well to an aggro strategy, the deck in reality is meant for a mid-to-long range game, and I played it incorrectly.

In my next article which I hope to get up in the next week or so, I will go over the building of both of these decks and how I made some of the choices that I made. In the meantime, here is the list for Nin:

Commander

Nin the Pain Artist

Artifacts

Basilisk Collar
Isochron Scepter
Izzet Signet
Rings of Brighthearth
Sol Ring
Staff of Nin
Thornbite Staff

Creatures

Captain of the Mists
Deadeye Navigator
Dominus of Fealty
Duplicant
Gelectrode
Goblin Electromancer
Guttersnipe
Iron Myr
Mercurial Chemister
Myr Galvanizer
Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius
Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind
Palladium Myr
Phantasmal Image
Phyrexian Metamorph
Shivan Hellkite
Silver Myr
Snapcaster Mage
Spikeshot Elder
Stuffy Doll
Zealous Conscripts

Enchantments

Curiosity
Quicksilver Dagger

Instants

Brainstorm
Chaos Warp
Comet Storm
Counterflux
Desperate Ravings
Essence Backlash
Firemind’s Foresight
Ghostly Flicker
Incinerate
Into the Roil
Izzet Charm
Lightning Bolt
Prophetic Bolt
Radiate
Swerve
Syncopate
Twiddle
Wild Ricochet

Sorceries

Beacon of Tomorrows
Blasphemous Act
Bonfire of the Damned
Invoke the Firemind
Ponder
Reforge the Soul
Rite of Replication
Silent Departure
Slagstorm

Planeswalkers

Chandra, the Firebrand
Jace, Architect of Thought
Koth of the Hammer
Tamiyo, the Moon Sage
Tezzeret the Seeker

Lands

Forgotten Cave
Halimar Depths
Izzet Boilerworks
Izzet Guildgate
Lonely Sandbar
Mystifying Maze
Steam Vents
Sulfur Falls
14 Island
15 Mountain

5 comments
  1. Eric Lowell said:

    Grimgrin rocks

  2. Eric Lowell said:

    I want to read a new artcle

    • And I would love to write one, but I’ve been uber-busy at work this past couple weeks and just haven’t had time. I’ll get there!

  3. Eric Lowell said:

    I don’t want excuses. I want results. BTW, Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. Eric Lowell said:

    Still no new articles. 😦

Leave a Reply

